4 replies to this topic

ledzeppelin

ledzeppelin

Making Friends

• Bunker Members
  • 93 posts
  • Server:Unselected
Click to view battle stats
alright so it's been like 2 months since i started playing mechwarrior online; since G0rt said he found the original mechwarrior 2 a lot of fun (so did I) i decided to write up a little intro to this Free to Play game.
since teamplay is so important in this game maybe we could have a little room in TS if you guys ever get to play this.

this game is consuming my time more and more each passing day, i'm hooked on it.

let's get started: what is mechwarrior?
if you don't already know, mechwarrior is a simulation game based on the popular tabletop game Battletech by FASA;
the game plays quite a bit like a tank sim; except instead of tanks you're piloting mechs - huge two legged machines (robots).

First Impressions/Gameplay
to the untrained noob (lol) who just got the game it may seem like there's not only a steep learning curve, but also limited maps and game modes;
while this is all true - after playing some more you can finally appreciate the big picture elements such as the teamwork, customization and the community. i would recommend you don't give up if your first few matches are tough - that's how MWO is, around 40%-50% of the time you'll be obliterated in your mech's cockpit, it's inevitable.
but that's a given in this game and people never get mad or put the blame on anyone else (unless you're being a douche) - quite the contrary; you're encouraged to join a group even if you're not that good yourself.
and the roleplay elements of the battletech universe play a big part in what groups there are and which you'll decide to join.

Timeline
the game takes place in the year 3050. battletech history extends for hundreds of years but developers picked the most pivotal point in Btech history with the year 3050 since it's about the same time period mechwarrior2 was supposed to take place in - the iconic "invasion of the clans"